Clean Family Friendly Movie Reviews & Ratings | Clean Cut Media
Home » Featured, Movies

Clean Family Friendly Movie Reviews & Ratings

29 August 2009 105 Comments
Do you like this story? Be the first to share with friends! Hit the 'like' button!

Pixar - Clean Family Friendly Movies

Clean Family Friendly Movie Reviews

Help us start a list of Clean Family Friendly Movies!

One of the goals of Clean Cut Media is to raise awareness of the influence of media on our culture and our Worldview. It is not an easy task as by nature much of what is written pushes up against what our culture would consider the norm. However in addition to this primary goal, Clean Cut Media aims to also be a resource where people can come to find fresh perspective and reviews on movies, music, tv shows and other media.

Hard to find Good Clean Family Friendly Movies Online

There are so many ways to watch or rent a movie. These days you can stream movies online at a flick of a finger, yet it is not an easy task to figure out which movies are wholesome, safe, and free of sexual innuendos, sex scenes, violence, vulgar scenes, and bad language. It’s nearly impossible outside of a few children movies (and even many of those are questionable). As someone who spends tons of time with youth students myself, it isn’t easy to find a definitive list of clean movies I can check out.

So I’d like to start a list of Clean Movies as well as Clean Family Friendly Movies so those who will find this post can have a list of movies they know is safe to watch both for their children and for themselves. Also please contribute popular movies that seem safe at first glance.

Please Share Your List of Clean Movies & Clean Family Friendly Movies

Here is what you can do.

Comment below with the Names of Movies that you consider to be clean and/or family safe.

Please label them as Family Friendly / Clean

Clean Movie: This means no sex scenes, no or minimal sexual innuendos, no or minimal bad language, no excessive violence/gore, and no bad message!

Family Friendly: Basically would you take your 10 year old daughter to this and be perfectly comfortable with what she is taking in?

Exceptions: I realize finding perfectly “clean” movies is really hard, so if you know of any movies that violates a portion of these categories, just notate it next to the name. You MUST note any amount of bad language, sexual innuendos, sexual scenes, bad message, violence – think about parents of very young kids who may want to use this list to choose a movie. More information the better. Also if you know the RATING, please note it as well.

Please also contribute movies that come off as family friendly but you found to be unacceptable as well as any popular movie titles! (Ex. The Later Shrek movies are NOT for kids! Tons of Sexual innuendos and jokes). If you see movies below that do not have proper warnings, let us know!

Below are some samples to start off. Please follow the general format.

I’ll update this as people comment. Red = Not Family Friendly

List of Clean / Family Friendly Movies [+ Unclean "Children" Films]

Movies Names Clean Family Friendly Exceptions
25th Hour [R] Lots of Bad Language
100 First Dates [PG-13] X X
30 Minutes or Less [R] “Horrible Language, Massively Inappropriate” “Horrifying” “Skipped through whole film then turned it off”
A Little Princess[PG] X X
Adjustment Bureau, The [PG-13] X Some Sexuality
The Adventures of Tin Tin [PG] X X
Aladdin [G] X X Clean movie, other than how absurdly skinny the princess is as in all Disney movies. Beware of the impact!
All Dogs Go to Heaven [PG] X X
Amadeus [PG] X Director’s Cut is rated R for flash nudity & language
Amazing Grace [PG] X X
Angels in the Backfield [PG] X X Violence & Bad Language
Anne of Green Gables [PG] X
Annie [PG] X X
Antz [PG] X X
Apollo 13 [PG] Foul Language, Short sex scene in shower
Around the World in 80 Days [PG] X X Some Nude statues & Pictures
Babe 1 & 2 [PG] X X
Back to the Future Series [PG] X Some bad language [see comments], some adult themes
Band of Brothers [NR] X War Violence, Sex Scene in Episode 9
Beaches [PG-13] X Some Adult Drama
Bedtime Stories [PG] X X
Bella [PG-13] X X Topic of Abortion & Sad Scene of Car Accident
Ben-Hur [NR] X X Violence during the race.
The Big Year [PG] X X Few Bad words, some sensuality. Sensual kissing scene b/w married couple. Clean, Family Film
Billy: The Early Years [G] X X
Blind Side, The [PG-13] X X
Bolt [PG] X X
The Bourne Identity [PG-13] X Violence & Bad Language, Sensual Kissing, Characters sleep with each other despite knowing very little about each other
The Bourne Supremacy [PG-13] X Violence & Bad Language
The Bourne Ultimatum [PG-13] X Violence & Bad Language
Brave [PG] X X
Bridge to Terabithia [PG] X X
The Bucket List [PG-13] X Some Cursing & Sexual References
Bugs Life [G] X X
Cacoon [PG-13] X Brief Nudity? Someone please confirm.
Captain America [PG-13] X X Action/Violence
Captain America 2 [PG-13] X X
Cars [G] X X
Chariots of Fire [PG] X X
Charlotte’s Web [G] X X
Charly [PG] X X
Cheaper by the Dozen [PG] X X Sexual References, Schoolyard name calling
Chicken Run [G] X X I found this movie too scary for children under age of 4-5
Christmas Child [NR] X X
Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe [PG] X X
Cinderella Story [PG] X X
Cool Runnings [PG] X Quick Kissing Scene, Some Foul Language
Cop and a Half [PG] X X Mild Language, Violence
Cop Out [R] “Horrible Language, Massively Inappropriate” “F every other word”
Cranford BBC Series [G] X X
Dead Man Walking [R] X Murder, Rape Scene at a distance, some bad language
Dead Silence [PG-13] X X Clean Language (some use of “hell”), Frightening scenes
Deep Impact [PG-13] X X
Deja Vu [PG-13] Violence & Terror
Die Hard: Live Free, Die hard [PG-13] X Violence & Bad Language
Despicable Me [PG] X X
Despicable Me 2 [PG] X X
Dumbo [G] X X
Dustin Checks In [PG] X X Mild Language, Sensuality
The Emperor’s New Groove [G] X X
Ella Enchanted [PG] X X
End of the Spear [PG-13] X
Evan Almighty [PG] X X
Ever After [PG] X X Death of Father & Scary Scene with Villian unsuitable for the very young
Fiddler on the Roof [G] X X
Finding Nemo [G] X X
Fireproof [PG] X X
First Dog X X
Five Mile Creek Disney Series [NR] X X
Forrest Gump [PG-13]
Frozen [PG] X X Actually good message about true love.
The Fugitive [PG-13] X X Violence. Murder Scene.
Galaxy Quest [PG] X X Older Kids 8+, minimal violence, positive msg
Gifted Hands The Ben Carson Story [NR] X X
Gladiator [R] X Extreme Violence
Glory Road [PG] X X
Goonies [PG] X Kids curse
Gravity [PG-13] X X
Groundhog Day [PG] X Romantic Comedy. Mild Profanity, No nudity but implied sex
Happy Feet [PG] X X
Harry Potter & the Half Blood Prince [PG] X X Major Teen Love Drama
Heaven Can Wait [PG] X X
The Help [PG-13] X X Few scenes may be too mature for kids. 1 character suffers miscarriage, another victim of domestic violence, but viewers doesn’t see anything. Police office hits black woman. All around safe, clean film.
Hitch [PG-13] X Shows people in bed together before marriage
The Hobbit [PG-13] Lot of Violence. Clean Film for Adults.
Home Alone [PG] X X
Homeward Bound Series [G] X X
Horton Hears a Who [G] X X
Hotel for Dogs [PG] X X
How to Train Your Dragon [PG] X X
Hugo [PG] X X
Ice Age [PG] X X
Ice Princess [G] X X
Inception [PG-13] X Violence. Slightly disturbing scenes. Suicide.
Indiana Jones Series [PG-13] X X Temple of Doom has some upsetting, graphic scenes.
Incredibles [G] X X
Infernal Affairs (Cantonese) [R] X Violence
The Inheritance Hallmark [NR] X X
Iron Giant [PG] X X
The Italian Job [PG-13] X Mild Language, Violence, Shows girl in bra
John Q [PG-13] X X
Jurassic Park [PG-13] X X
Kings Speech [R] X One Scene where speech therapist has the main character curse the F word numerous times as part of the treatment. Other than that, it’s a clean movie.
Kung Fu Hustle [R] Mild and cartoon-like violence
Kung Fu Panda [G] X X
Lady and the Tramp [G] X X
The Lake House [PG] X Language, Disturbing Images
The Land Before Time [G] X X Entire Series
The Land of Oz [PG] X X
Lark Rises to Candleford BBC [NR] X X shows superstitions of village people
The Last Airbender [PG] X X
Last Chance Harvey [PG-13] X X
The Last Samurai [R] X Action/Violence/Gore Sensual Scene
The Lego Movie [PG] X X
Letters to Juliet [PG] X X
Life is Beautiful [PG-13] X Holocaust Themes
Life on Liberty Street [NR] X Holocaust Themes
Lilo & Stitch [PG] X X
Lion King [G] X X
Little Giants [PG] X X
Little Mermaid [G] X X Does anyone find it problematic the main character is barely wearing anything and is super skinny and what kind of effect it has on girl’s self-perception and guy’s view towards girls? I do.
Little Rascals [PG] X X #1 & #2
Love Comes Softely [NR] X X
Lord of the Rings – Fellowship of the Ring [PG-13] X X
Lord of the Rings – Return of the King [PG-13] X X
Lord of the Rings – Two Towers [PG-13] X X
Madagascar [PG] X X
The Magic of Ordinary Days Hallmark [NR] X X
A Man for All Seasons [G] X X
Mandie and the Secret Tunnel [NR] X X
The Matrix [R] X
Marry Poppins [G] X X
The Messengers [PG-13] X X Clean Language, Frightening scenes
Miracle [PG] X X
Miracle Dogs [N/A] X X #1 & #2
Miss Potter [PG] X X Mild Language
Mission Impossible 3 [PG-13] X Intense Action
Monsters Inc [G] X X
Monsters & Aliens [PG] X X Potty Humor
Moondance Alexander [G] X X
Mulan [G] X X
Muppets, The [G] X X
My Big Fat Greek Wedding [PG-13] X Non-sexual scene, but implied between unwed partners
My Girl [PG] X X
Nanny Mcfee [PG] X X
Napolean Dynamite [PG] X X It’s one of those love it or hate it movies..
National Treasure [PG] X X
The Negotiator [R] X Violence & Bad Language
Newsies [PG] X X
Night at the Museum [PG] X X Mild Flirting, Checking a girl out, can be a little scary for very young children
The North and South BBC [NR] X X
Oliver and Company [G] X X
The Other Guys [PG-13] “Horrible Language, Massively Inappropriate” Not for Kids.
Overboard [PG] Some Bad Language & Sexual Content
Passion of the Christ [R] Gore, Beatings
Pay it Forward [PG-13] X Mature Elements, Substance Abuse, Sad Parts, Sexual Citations, Language
Penelope [PG] X X Some Innuendo
Perfect Man [PG] X X
Pink Panther 2006 [PG] Beyonce’s clothing are tight fitting & revealing. Sexual innuendos. Should be PG-13.
Pirates of the Caribbean [PG-13] X X Some Violence
Pride & Prejudice [PG] X X
Prince of Egypt [PG] X X
Princess Bride [PG] X X
Princess Dairies [G] X X
Protocol [PG] Some Bad Language & Sexual Content
Pursuit of Happiness [PG-13] X X Some Bad Language
Raising Arizona [PG-13] X X
Raising Helen [PG-13] X Thematic theme issues involving teens
Ratatouille [G] X X
Remember the Titans [PG] X X
Return to Snowy River [PG] X X Mild Language
Road to Avonlea Sullivan Series [G] X X
The Rookie [G] X X
Saints & Soldiers [PG-13] Originally rated R, cut down to lower rating, War Violence. Mormon Sniper?
The Sandlot [PG] X X For-e-ver. For-e-ver. (#1 & 2 both OK)
Saving Private Ryan [R] X Lots of Violence (War Movie)
Schindler’s List [R] X Violence, Holocaust Themes
Second Hand Wedding [PG] X X Young Couple living together. Teenage Appropriate
The Secret Garden [G] X X
Secret of Nimh [G] X X Both #1 and 2 are clean
Secrets of Jonathan Sperry [PG] X X Both #1 and 2 are clean
Series of Unfortunate Events [PG] X Dark / Sad Movie
Seven Brides for Seven Brothers [G] X X
Seven Pounds [PG-13] Sexual Content, Bad Language, Adult Theme [Suicide]
Shadowlands [PG] X X
The ShawShank Redemption [R] Bad Language, Prison Violence
Shrek 3 [PG] Tons of Sexual Innuendos, Adult Humor
Sign of the Beaver [N/A] X X
Signs [PG-13] X X Few curse words, scary but no gore
Sixth Sense [PG-13] X There is a scene where you see a fuzzy silhouette of the wife in the shower. The focus in the scene is elsewhere though. Too scary for kids.
Sleepless in Seattle [PG] X X Two bad words, couple sexual innuendos
Social Network [R] Not Clean – that’s why its Rated R!
Somewhere in Time [PG] X X
Spy Kids [PG] X X
Stand and Deliver [PG] X X
Star Trek [PG-13] Several Sexual Innuendos, Short Sexual Scene
Star Wars – Original Trilogy [PG] X X
Stardust [PG-13] X Fantasy Violence, Risque Humor
Stormbreaker [PG] X X PG for Action Sequences
Stuart Little [PG] X X Includes: Stuart 1, 2 and 3
Sugarland Express [PG] X X Great for Older kids. Young won’t get the humor.
Summer of the Monkeys [G] X X
Sweet Home Alabama [PG-13] X Language, Sexual References
Sword in the Stone [G] X X
Sydney White [PG-13] X Mild Language, Sexual Humor, Partying, Nudity implied but not seen
The Tale of Despereaux [G] X X
Tarzan [G] X X
Thor [PG-13] X
Though None Go With Me [PG] X X
Time Traveler’s Wife [PG-13] Rear End Nudity, Sexuality, Bad Language
Total Recall [R] 1990 Version. Profanity, Violence, Bed Scene
Toy Story [G] X X
Toy Story 2 [G] X X
Toy Story 3 [G] X X A little intense for young kids. Sneaky reference to “Nice As..cot”
The Treasure Seekers [N/A] X X
True Grit [PG-13] X Violence
Truman Show [PG] X X
Try Try Again [N/A] X X
Two Week’s Notice [PG-13] X Sexual Related Humor, Language
The Ultimate Gift [PG] X X
Unbreakable [PG-13] X X
UP [PG] X X
US Marshall [PG-13] X X
The Village [PG-13] X X No Cursing, Some frightening scenes
A Walk to Remember [PG] X X Some Sensual Material
Wall-E [G] X X
Wallace & Gromit [G] X X
The Waterhorse [PG] X X
Veggie Tales [G] X X Includes all Veggie Tale Titles. See Comments for Fuller List
The Wager [N/A] X X Family Friendly
War Horse [PG-13] X
We are Marshall [PG] X X “grab your box of tissue! it’s sad- tells the story of a town and how they dealt with the tradegy of their football team’s plane crash- sad but definately uplifting!”
We Were Soldiers [R] X “Extreme Violence, but Excellent Message”
What Dreams May Come [PG-13] X X
The Winter Stallion [N/A] X X
What the Deaf Man Heard Hallmark [NR] NA NA
When Zachary Beaver Came to Town [PG] X X
White You Were Sleeping [PG] X X Some Sexual References and Kissing. Mild Language
Wild Hearts Can’t be Broken [PG] X X Mild Language
Willy Wonka (Gene Wilder) [G] X X May be scary for small children
The Young Victoria [PG] X X “some sensual material b\w the married couple but no sexual scenes, mild language”
You’ve Got Mail [PG] X Father & Grandfather being involved with series of younger women portrayed as humorous. Scene about Cyber Sex. People living together before marriage. Parents should explain talking to strangers online is never good.
Zathura [PG] X X
Zeus and Roxanne [PG] X X “Zeus is a little dog and Roxanne is a dolphin, and how they manage to bring a lonely man with a son and a career woman with two teenagers together. Sweet movie!”

Please take a minute to contribute some movies!
It would help a lot if you noted the movie rating!

This will take a long while to become a comprehensive list but slowly and surely we’ll build out this list!

By Paul Lee

Comments
  • Abe Yang August 30, 2009 at

    The following are all clean/family-friendly:
    * Chariots of Fire
    * Kung Fu Panda
    * All Pixar movies (Toy Story, Bugs Life, Monsters Inc, The Incredibles, Wall-E, Ratatouille, etc)

    Fairly Clean:
    * Die Hard 4 (violence and bad language)
    * The Bourne Trilogy (same reasons as above)

    • Media Influence November 9, 2009 at

      thanks for starting us off abe – those are great suggestions!

  • George Hu August 30, 2009 at

    I would add:

    Clean–”Glory”, but with violence.

  • Vanessa August 31, 2009 at

    Fairly Clean
    -Pirates of the Caribbean (some violence)
    -Angels in the Outfield [PG] (some bad language)

    Other
    -Band of Brothers (lots of violence)
    -Seven Pounds (NOT clean) (sexual content & bad language)

    still thinking of more…

  • Matt August 31, 2009 at

    Until I can post films that I’ve actually seen, this is a good resource.

    http://www.breakpoint.org/resources/recommended-films

  • Jesse September 1, 2009 at

    Pretty Clean:
    1) National Treasure
    2) Glory Road
    3) Iron Giant
    4) Bridge to Terabithia
    5) Jurassic Park
    6) The Sandlot
    7) Goonies
    8) Back to the Future (all 3)
    9) Indiana Jones (all 3)
    10) Star Wars (original trilogy)
    11) Spy Kids
    12) Deep Impact

    Dramas (Probably not appropriate for kids)
    1) Amadeus
    2) Schindler’s List (violence)
    3) Infernal Affairs (violence but it’s in Cantonese)
    4) Mission Impossible 3 (intense action)
    5) The Negotiator (violence, language)
    6) Truman Show

  • D. Dip September 1, 2009 at

    any of the Homeward Bound movies

    not sure what we can learn from these movies but they were clean and entertaining to watch as a kid

  • Jesse September 14, 2009 at

    Highly recommend watching “Disney’s The Emperor’s New Groove”. Hilarious!

  • Diana November 9, 2009 at

    1. Anne of Green Gables – clean
    2. Lilo and Stitch – clean and family friendly
    3. Bella – clean, family friendly (although it might not be recommended for the younger ones in the family as it deals with abortion and has a really sad scene of a car accident.)
    4. A series of unfortunate events – clean (but dark/sad)
    5. The Land Before Time – clean and family friendly (especially the first one)
    6. Saving Private Ryan – clean (but lots of violence)
    7. Prince of Egypt – clean and family friendly
    8. Antz – clean and family friendly

    I’ll think of some more and come share! :)

    • Media Influence November 9, 2009 at

      Vanessa – Great suggestions. Band of Brothers is one of my favorites. There is also a bad sexual scene in one of the later episodes. I think it was episode 9.

      Jesse – Wow that is a pretty comprehensive list!

      D. Dip – haha homeward bound. I loved those movies as a child!

      Diana – thanks for the list.. lot of good ones in there. “land before time” brings back memories… of watching it on VHS.. im getting old. I still haven’t seen bella, though I would love to see that movie. thanks for offering to share more!

      keep them coming, this is a nice little list.

  • Tracy L November 12, 2009 at

    Ditto on Emperor’s New Groove!

    Life is Beautiful
    Wallace and Gromit = D

  • dragonfyshe November 13, 2009 at

    Happy Feet – kids movie but the music is a trip down memory lane for adults
    Surf’s Up – kid’s movie, but has a great message about being your true self
    Brother Bear 1 & 2 – great and educational about another culture
    Just about anything to do with the Muppet’s – both fun for kids and adults

    Apollo 13 – can’t remember precisely but I don’t remember any bad language, educational, and a great story to boot
    Around the World in 80 Days (Jackie Chan)- Funny for both adults and children, no sex scenes, no bad language
    Babe and Babe 2: Pig in the City – a rollicking good story for all with no bad language, violence, or nudity
    Cocoon – a beautiful story with no bad language, violence
    Pay It Forward – a wonderful story everyone should see though there are some very sad bits
    The WaterHorse: Legend of the Deep – a great family film

    I hope these fit your criteria

    Enjoy

  • dragonfyshe November 13, 2009 at

    Just remembered 1 more

    Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (Gene Wilder) brilliant

    • Media Influence November 14, 2009 at

      Tracy & Dragonfyshe – Thanks for all those great suggestions. Just posted them all.

      Really hoping this list becomes useful resources for others.

  • Vanessa December 1, 2009 at

    I would recommend The Pursuit of Happyness (PG-13). It has some bad language, but overall a clean movie.

  • Vanessa December 28, 2009 at

    The Bucket List- I think it is underrated at PG13 since some of the content is still inappropriate for that age. Has cursing & sexual references.

  • Kate January 13, 2010 at

    clean:-the prince of egypt- it’s good for all people. believe me.

    • cleancutmedia January 13, 2010 at

      Great suggestions.

      Updated: The Bucket List, Pursuit of Happiness.

      I believe prince of egypt was mentioned before but GREAT suggestions. very clean.

  • John Dille March 4, 2010 at

    The Passion of the Christ-clean-awesomely powerful movie.
    Really gives insight like never before of Christ’s sacrifice.- Graphic because Christ’s beatings and crucifixion are shown in detail.

    I would highly recommend it despite its graphicness. In fact, that is a big part of its strength.

  • tyler March 7, 2010 at

    back to the future wasn’t very family friendly. I haven’t seen the third one, but the first one had a bit of language, and the second one had adult content in it.

    • cleancutmedia March 9, 2010 at

      hey tyler – wow I haven’t seen back to the future in ages. Do you remember what kind of language was in the 1st one? Perhaps I was too young to be aware – don’t recall the bad language at all!

      thanks for your contribution

  • tyler March 9, 2010 at

    Jesus’ name and God’s are abused a good number of times.

    4 S-words (2 with the prefix Holy, one used as something out of the ordinary, the other actually used to describe manure). There are also a bunch of hells and damns and at least one “son of a b***h” and “ba****d”.

  • Vanessa March 10, 2010 at

    Beaches
    Rated PG-13

    Some adult drama.

  • Kathy Webster March 26, 2010 at

    I loved Bolt – very family friendly and clean.

  • cleancutmedia April 16, 2010 at

    thanks vanessa & kathy. just letting you know I added those to the list :)

  • jo June 11, 2010 at

    Miss Potter about children’s author Beatrix Potter – lovely film for whole family.

  • TGRD June 23, 2010 at

    Cool Runnings – lots of foul language

    Willy Wonka – Scary for small children. Definitely did not like new version.

  • TGRD June 23, 2010 at

    Apollo 13 Foul Language. Short sex scene in shower. Not clean.

  • KV July 1, 2010 at

    A Walk to Remember. Refreshingly clean teen romance. Good soundtrack.

    Hilary Duff movies like Cinderella Story and the Perfect man

  • cleancutmedia July 12, 2010 at

    jo, TGRD,& KV – thanks for adding to the movie list.

    thanks for your notes about the foul langugage in cool runnings and a scene in Apollo 13. We always welcome more detail as well!

    if anyone has more to add, please let us know, especially if you disagree with any of the contributions… always good to get everyone’s thoughts and opinions.

  • Dennis Doyle July 18, 2010 at

    I can’t believe no one has mentioned Princess Bride! Or Remember Wynn-Dixie, Roman Holiday, all the Hitchcock movies, Heaven Can Wait, Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, While You Were Sleeping, etc.

  • Kim October 17, 2010 at

    Some of our favorites, all of these are clean, and all (except We Were Soldiers) are apropriate for young children:
    -The Last Sin Eater (PG) (scary for small children)
    -Cranford BBC series (G)
    -Billy: The early Years (G)
    -North and South BBC miniseries
    -Lark Rise to Candleford BBC series (shows alot of superstitions of the village people)
    -Road To Avonlea Sullivan Films Series (G)
    -Wild Hearts can’t be Broken (PG)(some mild language)
    -We Were Soldiers (R) (extreme violence(war movie) but excellent message)
    -The Magic of Ordinary Days Hallmark
    -What the Deaf Man Heard Hallmark
    -Five Mile Creek Disney series
    -The Inheritance Hallmark
    -The Tale of Despereaux (G)
    -The Young Victoria (PG) (some sensual material between the married couple but no sexual scenes, mild language)

    also, Feature Films for Families are all clean films.

  • Deaunna October 31, 2010 at

    Thanks for the great list. A quick note about Evan Almighty. I think it’s awful to mock God like that so I would strike it from my list!

    Don’t forget about the phenomenal teen movie Napoleon Dynamite! One of those college lab movies that went viral! My teenagers have half of it memorized! So funny and tells a great moral story of the importance of friendship!

  • Deaunna October 31, 2010 at

    Okay- just thought of a few more of our family favorites! For sure these are clean movies.

    We Are Marshall- grab your box of tissue! it’s sad- tells the story of a town and how they dealt with the tradegy of their football team’s plane crash- sad but definately uplifting!

    Zeus and Roxanne- When our children were little (over the past 10 years)our family has literally seen this at least 3 or 4 times a year. One of the quirky things we have done but we really do just love it! Zeus is a little dog and Roxanne is a dolphin, and how they manage to bring a lonely man with a son and a career woman with two teenagers together. Sweet movie!

    Star Wars

    Night at the Museum- Ben Stiller

    Cheaper by The Dozen

  • cleancutmedia November 1, 2010 at

    Dennis, Kim – thanks for the contributions!

    Deaunna – Thanks for all the details! For a few I just took a quote or two since I’d thought it’d be helpful for others. that’s a lot of movies!

  • Ash November 19, 2010 at

    -The Orphanage (Exceptions)
    -The Fragile

    Rush Hour[s]

  • Lynn November 26, 2010 at

    Here are a few others I don’t think I saw on the list:

    Flywheel
    Facing the Giants
    Fireproof
    The above 3 are produced by the same company. More for older children or adults, but completely clean with a great message!

    The Ultimate Gift upper elementary-adult..great message…star cast

    Sarah Plain and Tall series…young children-adult

  • Lora December 7, 2010 at

    12 Dogs of Christmas
    321 Penguins Amazing Carnival of Complaining T
    321 Penguins Cheating Scales of Bullamaka The
    321 Penguins Moon Menace on Planet Tell a Lie
    321 Penguins Runaway Pride at Light Station Kilowatt
    321 Penguins Trouble on Planet wait Your Turn
    A Horse for Danny
    Adventures of Milo and Otis The
    Adventures of Swiss family Robinson The
    Adventures of the Black Stallion The
    All Dogs Go to Heaven
    An All Dogs Christmas Carol
    Angelina Ballerina Friends Forever
    Angelina Ballerina Lights Camera Action
    Angelina Ballerina Luck Penny The
    Angelina Ballerina Meet
    Angelina Ballerina Rose Fairy Princess
    Angelina Ballerina Show Must Go On Christmas in Mouseland
    Ann of Green Gables
    Babe
    Babe Pig in the City
    Baby Explorer World of Wonder
    Baileys Billions Dog Movie
    Balto
    Bear in the Big Blue House Party Time with Bear
    Bear with Me
    Because of Winn-Dixie Dog Movie
    Beethoven’s 3rd
    Beethoven’s 4th
    Beethoven’s 5th
    Beethoven’s Big Break
    Benji
    Benji Off the Leash
    Benji Very Own Christmas Story
    Berenstain Bears Fun Family Adventures The
    Berenstain Bears Take a Car Trip The
    Berenstain Bears Team Up The
    Black Beauty
    Blind Side The
    Blues Clues Blues Big Musical Movie
    Blues Clues Blues Jobs
    Blues Clues Bluestock
    Blues Clues Classic Clues
    Blues Clues Shapes and Colors
    Boz a wowiebozee Christmas
    Boz Adventures in Imagination
    Boz Bananas Bubbles and Busy Bodies
    Brainy Baby Left Brain
    Brainy Baby Right Brain
    Cats and Dogs Things Are Gonna Get Hairy
    Cats the Movie
    Charlottes Web
    Chicken Run
    Christmas Blessing The
    Clancy
    Derby Stallion The
    Disney 101 Dalmatians Platinum Edition
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Bach
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Beethoven
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby da vinci
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Galileo
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby MacDonald
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Monet
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Mozart
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Neptune
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Newton
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Noah
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Santa’s Music Box
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Shakespeare
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Van Gogh
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Wordsworth
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s Favorite Places
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s First Moves
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s First Sounds
    Disney Baby Einstein Discovering Shapes
    Disney Baby Einstein Language Nursery
    Disney Baby Einstein Lullaby Time
    Disney Baby Einstein Meet the Orchestra
    Disney Baby Einstein My First Signs
    Disney Baby Einstein Neighborhood Animals
    Disney Baby Einstein Number Nursery
    Disney Baby Einstein On the Go
    Disney Baby Einstein World Animals
    Disney Baby Einstein World Music
    Disney Bambi Platinum Edition
    Disney Beauty and the Beast Diamond Edition
    Disney Cinderella Platinum Edition
    Disney Cinderella Two
    Disney Dinosaur
    Disney JoJo’s Circus Animal a Go-Go
    Disney JoJo’s Circus Take a Bow
    Disney Lady and the Tramp Platinum Edition
    Disney Lion King The Platinum Edition
    Disney Monsters, Inc.
    Disney Nature Earth
    Disney Other Side of Heaven The
    Disney Peter Pan Platinum Edition
    Disney Pinocchio Platinum Edition
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Baby Bot Chase The
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Great Defender of Fun The
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Olie’s Winter Wonderland
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Scavenger Hunt
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Spring-Time Fun
    Disney Search for Santa Paws The
    Disney Sleeping Beauty Platinum Edition
    Disney Snow White Platinum Edition
    Disney Tigger Move The
    Disney Tinker Bell
    Disney Tinker Bell and the Great Fairy Rescue
    Disney Tinker Bell and the Lost Treasure
    Disney Where the Red Fern Grows (2003)
    Disney Where’s Spot and Other Stories
    Disney Where’s Spot and Spot Goes to the Farm
    Disney Wild The
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Grand Adventure
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Heffalump Halloween Movie
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Heffalump Movie
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Springtime with Roo
    Dreamer (Horse Movie)
    Evan Almighty
    Everyone’s Hero
    FernGully The Last Rainforest
    Fire Proof
    Flicka (Horse Movie)
    Flipper
    Fly Wheel
    Forbidden Territory
    Fox and the Child The
    Franklin and the Green Knight
    Franklin in the Dark
    Franklin’s Birthday Party
    Franklin’s Homemade Cookies
    Garfield a Tail of Two Kitties
    Gold Retrievers The
    Good Morning Maisy
    Hermie a Common Caterpillar
    Hermie a Fruitcake Christmas
    Hermie and the High Seas
    Hermie Antonio Meets His Match
    Hermie Buzby and the Grumble Bees
    Hermie Flo Show Creates a Buzz The
    Hermie Flo the Lyin Fly
    Hermie Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn’t Pray
    Hermie Stanley the Stinkbug Goes to Camp
    Hermie To Share or Nut to Share
    Hermie Webster the Scaredy Spider
    Hidden Places
    Hope Floats
    Ice Age
    Imax Under the Sea
    Kayla (Dog Movie)
    Kit Kittredge An American Girl
    Land Before Time Adventuring in the Mysterious Beyond
    Land Before Time Amazing Adventures
    Land Before Time Big Freeze The
    Land Before Time Good Times and Good Friends
    Land Before Time Great Day of the Flyers The
    Land Before Time Great Longneck Migration The
    Land Before Time Great Valley Adventure The
    Land Before Time Invasion of the Tinysauruses The
    Land Before Time Journey to Big Water The
    Land Before Time Secret of Saurus Rock The
    Land Before Time Through the Eye of a Spiketail The
    Land Before Time Wisdom of Friends The
    Lassie- The Painted Hills (Dog Movie)
    Legend of Tillamooks Gold The
    Little Heroes (Dog Movie)
    Little House on the Prairie- The Premiere Movie (1974)
    Little Rascals
    Little Women
    Madagacar
    Miracle Dogs
    Miracle Dogs Too
    Miss Spider Sunny Patch Friends Adventures of the Sunny Patch Friends Volume One
    Miss Spider Sunny Patch Friends Adventures of the Sunny Patch Friends Volume Two
    Miss Spider Sunny Patch Friends Dashing Through the Snow
    Miss Spider Sunny Patch Friends Humbug
    Miss Spider Sunny Patch Kids
    Mr Magoriums Wonder Emporium
    Nims Island
    Once Upon a Forest
    Over the Hedge
    Penguins in a Christmas Caper The
    Penguins Whacked Out Holiday The
    Quigley
    Retrievers The
    Robots
    Rubbadubbers Here Come the Rubbadubbers
    Sand Lot The
    Sand Lot Two
    Sarah Plain and Tall
    Second Chances (Horse Movie)
    Secret Garden The
    Secret of Nimh The
    Secret of Nimh Two Timmy to the Rescue
    Sign of the Beaver
    Singing Babies
    Stuart Little 1
    Stuart Little 2
    Stuart Little 3 Call of the Wild
    Through None Go with Me
    Treasure Seekers The
    Try Try Again
    Ultimate Gift The
    Veggie Tales a Snoodles Tale
    Veggie Tales Abe and the Amazing Promise
    Veggie Tales An Easter Carol
    Veggie Tales Are You My neighbor
    Veggie Tales Ballade of Little Jo The
    Veggie Tales Dave and the Giant Pickle
    Veggie Tales Duke and the Giant Pie War
    Veggie Tales Esther the Girl Who Became Queen
    Veggie Tales Gideon Tuba Warrior
    Veggie Tales God Made You Special
    Veggie Tales God Wants Me to Forgive Them
    Veggie Tales Jonah a Veggie Tales Movie
    Veggie Tales Josh and the Big Wall
    Veggie Tales King George and the Ducky
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and the Bad Apple
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and the Fib From Outer Space
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and Rumor Weed
    Veggie Tales Lessons From the Sock Drawer
    Veggie Tales Lord of the Beans
    Veggie Tales Lyle the Kindly Viking
    Veggie Tales Madame Blueberry
    Veggie Tales Minnesota Cuke & the Search for Noah’s Umbrella
    Veggie Tales Minnesota Cuke & the Search for Samsons Hairbrush
    Veggie Tales Moe and the Big Exit
    Veggie Tales Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything
    Veggie Tales Rack Shack and Benny
    Veggie Tales Saint Nicholas
    Veggie Tales Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs Dance of the Cucumber
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs Do the Moo Shoo
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs I Can Be Your Friend
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs I Love My Lips
    Veggie Tales Star of Christmas The
    Veggie Tales Sumo of the Opera
    Veggie Tales Tomato Sawyer & Huckleberry’s Big River Rescue
    Veggie Tales Toy That Saved Christmas The
    Veggie Tales Ultimate Silly Song Countdown The
    Veggie Tales Where’s God When I am Scared?
    Veggie Tales Wonder World of Auto-tainment The
    Veggie Tales Wonderful Wizard of Ha’s
    Wager The
    When Zachary Beaver Came to Town
    Where the Red Fren Grow Original 1974
    White Fang (Dog Movie)
    Winter Stallion The
    Yours Mine and Ours
    Zeus and Roxanne

  • Paul December 27, 2010 at

    Last Chance Harvey is a good one. Minimal language(2 at most.) Very good.

  • Nancy February 7, 2011 at

    How refreshing! I’ve been searching and searching for clean movies online. I gave up cable/satellite television (have had them both) over a year ago and I don’t plan to go back. None of them seem to actually know what a “family tier” would consist of. Guess I shouldn’t be surprised.
    I’d love to help someone design an internet based family “television” style programming. Hulu gives you mostly cartoons when you look for family movies there. Pretty pathetic.

  • Nancy February 7, 2011 at

    And we love Veggie Tales at our house!!

  • Deaunna February 7, 2011 at

    Nancy, what a great idea! I would love to talk with you about developing this idea. Send me a note at Deaunna@gmail.com and we’ll see what we can come up with!

  • John Dille February 8, 2011 at

    Fireproof is a great movie with some action and a whole lot of heart.

  • John Dille February 8, 2011 at

    Facing the Giants is a great family film with sports and heart.

  • John Dille February 8, 2011 at

    It inspired me very much at one point in my life when I needed a lift. If you’re there, this movie will help, because in the film a man is really struggling, as is his football team. But something amazing turns it around, and he finds the strength to carry on.

    Highly recommended for all ages.

  • Lora February 16, 2011 at

    UPDATED: New additions to my christian movie list.

    1.) Aussie and Ted’s Great Adventure (Dog Movie)
    2.) Blind Side The
    3.) Christmas Child
    4.) Gifted Hands The Ben Carson Story
    5.) Hotel for Dogs
    6.) Land Before Time Journey Through the Mist The
    7.) Land Before Time Mysterious Island The
    8.) Life on Liberty Street
    9.) Mandie and the Secret Tunnel
    10.) Moondance Alexander (Horse Movie)
    11.) Passion of the Christ The
    12.) Summer of the Monkeys
    13.) Veggie Tales Its a Meaningful Life
    14.) What Dreams May Come

  • cleancutmedia February 16, 2011 at

    thanks for that list Lora!

  • luke February 25, 2011 at

    How to train your dragon (love that movie)
    Love comes softly
    Horton hears a who
    Treasure planet
    Princess of thieves (some action)
    Princess diaries 1 and 2 (clean for the most part)
    Cinderella the real one with brandy
    Oliver and company
    Tiny the movie ( dog movie loved that one growing up)

  • Yvonne March 5, 2011 at

    Most of these movies I watched as a child and fell in love with, no they are not all just kids movies but ones I enjoy as an adult without all the crap also
    Aladdin
    Mulan
    Oliver &company
    The other side of heaven
    the best two years
    pride and prejudice
    Ella enchanted
    cars
    protocol( there is some reference to gays in this movie, bad language and sexual content, but not bad even for me)
    nanny mcfee
    little mermaid
    spirit
    saints and soldiers
    Charly
    rigaletto
    the karate kid trilogy and the new one, there is some violence, not appropriate for young viewers
    first night some kissing that gets a little carried away can’t remember if it shows more than that
    quest for Camelot
    the sword in the stone
    Deja Vu(not appropriate for young viewers)
    overboard(this is hilarious) but does have some language and sexual content
    The bewitching of Ben Wagner
    The buttercream gang
    Three men and a baby trilogy some language and sexual references but very funny
    Ever after
    Little giants
    The rookie
    Remember the titans if this has been suggested sorry
    The fox and the hound
    robin hood both the cartoon and the one with Kevin costner, mild violence and language that I remember
    Somewhere in time
    The scarlet pimpernel
    the fugitive
    US marshals
    John Q
    Tarzan
    Annie
    Newsies
    Stand and deliver
    The man from snowy river trilogy
    Hitch
    Dumbo
    Fiddler on the roof
    Marry poppins
    The sound of music
    Lady and the tramp
    Ice princess
    A little princess
    The mummy series
    Seven brides for seven brothers
    The ice princess
    Quigly down under

  • Kathy W March 6, 2011 at

    Letters to Juliet is a great clean movie.
    The King’s Speech has one bad scene where they say the F word a bunch of times which gave it an R rating but there isn’t any sex or violence in it. It won Best Picture this year.

  • Cherry March 26, 2011 at

    Great suggestions!!

    I just wanted to add “Galaxy Quest”… fantastic family film (probably more for older kids, 8+?). No sex, very minimal violence, no language that I remember, no sexual inuendo (some Segourney Weaver cleavage though!) and a positive message! Its a fun sci-fi too (still great if you don’t like the genre).

  • Elizabeth March 27, 2011 at

    Some Personal good clean Favourites:

    Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
    The Lake House
    Two Week’s Notice (sexual language)
    The Italian Job (mild violence)
    Cellular (mild violence)
    Sydney White (nudity implied but not seen – sexual language)
    Penelope
    Stardust
    Sweet Home Alabama
    My Girl
    Raising Helen
    Yours, mine and ours [1968]
    Love Wrecked
    The Man From snowy River
    Return to Snowy River
    Remember the Titans (might have some language – racial descrimination)
    Joe Somebody

    family friendly:
    dunstin Checks in
    Little Rascals
    Born to be Free
    Robots
    The Secret Garden
    Pollyanna (1960 or tv 2003)
    Cop and a half
    The Sandlot
    Stormbreaker

  • Elizabeth March 27, 2011 at

    Oh, and Zathura to family friendly!

  • Vaughn June 14, 2011 at

    How is a PG-13 movie family friendly(remember this is for young kids)? How is a R movie clean? You can’t put a comment saying it has language, voilence, and a sex scene but is still clean. I wouldn’t dare show my young kids a PG-13 movie, and they’re rated PG-13 for a reason. A lot of this list is a joke. I’m looking for “clean movies”, not “cleaner than most movies”. I think the good movies on this list is very valuable and I appreciate those that helped, but lets label them correctly .

    • cleancutmedia June 15, 2011 at

      hey vaughn,

      by all means, if you have seen any of these movies and feel it is inappropriate please comment! this list really depends on people’s feedback. hope is that as that as more people give feedback the list will only get better. also please note know just because they are on the list doesn’t mean it is clean or family friendly at all, some are marked NEITHER. I believe they only made the list because there are movies that SEEM like family films that are actually not very clean at all so we wanted to note them here so people will be warned!

      i personally wouldn’t even want to show some of the PG stuff here because it romanticizes romance or rebellious living to be honest..

      thanks

    • ANOUSHA October 28, 2012 at

      i AGREE COMPLETELY, WE ARE A MUSLIM FAMILY AND FIND IT HARD TO FIND MOVIES THAT ARE CLEAN IE) NO KISSING, NO PARTIAL NUDITY, NO SWEAR WORDS…WHY IS IT SO HARD? WE WANT FAMILY FILMS, NOT CARTOONS OR ANIMATION. i’M SICK OF WATCHING ANIMAL MOVIES TOO! NO MORE DOLPHINS, WHALES, DOGS CATS OR PIGS! AS A SOCIETY WE ARE JUST INDIFFERENT TO THIS STANDARD NOW AS THE MAJORITY SEEM NOT TO CARE AND ARE DESENSITIZED TO IT ALL. THANKS TO THESE LISTS I HAVE MANAGED TO DOWNLOAD A FEW NEW ONES. THANKS FOR CONTRIBUTING EVERYONE.

    • Marleny Rafferty May 4, 2013 at

      Vaughn, I do agree with you that there are movies on this list I wouldn’t want my 13 y.o. daughter to see or my 10 y.o. son to see. However, I think the term “clean cut” is relative and that’s why we have comments. Many people are ok taking their children to a movie that has no nudity and no sex scenes but has bad language. My own children know what’s appropriate language in our household and though they ride the subway and go to school where foul language is used and heard daily (certainly as young as 4th grade and sometimes younger) they understand what is tolerable in our household.
      Also, the website clearly states (I copy/pasted from the top of the website):
      Family Friendly: Basically would you take your 10 year old daughter to this and be perfectly comfortable with what she is taking in? (This is sexist–why “daughter”? Is it ok for my 10 y.o. son to see violence but not my daughter? What’s with that statement?).

      I guess you still have to do your own research and judge for yourself but there are still many wonderful movies on this list. Do what I do: if you’re not sure of the cleanliness of the movie watch it by yourself first.

    • Laurie January 2, 2014 at

      Obviously, people have many different standards. The fact that I’ve never seen 90% of these makes me wonder if folks are growing desensitized by the sheer volume of entertainment they pursue.

      I would not call Forest Gump a family film.

      Ever After is a great take on Cinderella, with a shocking s-word thrown in out of the blue. Also, the death of dear father and a scary scene with the villain make it unsuitable for the very young.

      First Dog and The Secrets of Jonathan Sperry would qualify as family friendly.
      The Christmas Card is a holiday favorite.

  • Narnian August 18, 2011 at

    Hi Cleancutmedia,

    I am SO glad to have found your website. Thank God for your initiative behind this website.
    I love movies, but what with the growing insensitivity to immorality and violence.. I have to generally restrict myself to animation movies. They are a God-send. (Pixar, i love you guys.)

    Ok, can some one please help me with these:

    Are the following movies clean (clean as per CCM standards) Unstoppable.
    Planet of the Apes.
    Captain America.

    • cleancutmedia August 18, 2011 at

      Hey Narnian,

      thanks for the kind words.

      I personally have not seen those 3 movies, hopefully someone here will read your comment and give you feedback.
      Meanwhile I’ve been meaning to write a post talking about a couple good review sites (since our site doesn’t have an extensive list).. but search for “kids in mind” and “christian spotlight”, i find those two resources helpful as they tend to have higher standards then elsewhere.

      please come back and let us know what you find so we can add them to the list!

  • Lora August 20, 2011 at

    UPDATED & REVISED: My Christian Movie List

    12 Dogs of Christmas
    321 Penguins Amazing Carnival of Complaining The
    321 Penguins Cheating Scales of Bullamaka The
    321 Penguins Moon Menace on Planet Tell a Lie
    321 Penguins Runaway Pride at Light Station Kilowatt
    321 Penguins Trouble on Planet wait Your Turn
    Adventures of Milo and Otis The (Cat/Dog Movie)
    Adventures of Swiss family Robinson The (TV Series/Episodes)
    Adventures of the Black Stallion The (TV Series/Episodes)
    All Dogs Christmas Carol An
    All Dogs Go to Heaven
    Andre (Seal Movie)
    Angelina Ballerina Friends Forever
    Angelina Ballerina Lights Camera Action
    Angelina Ballerina Luck Penny The
    Angelina Ballerina Meet
    Angelina Ballerina Rose Fairy Princess
    Angelina Ballerina Show Must Go On Christmas in Mouseland
    Aussie and Ted’s Great Adventure (Dog Movie)
    Babe (Pig Movie)
    Babe Pig in the City
    Baby Explorer World of Wonder
    Baileys Billions (Dog Movie)
    Balto (Dog Cartoon)
    Bear in the Big Blue House Party Time with Bear
    Bear with Me (Bear Movie)
    Because of Winn-Dixie (Dog Movie)
    Beethoven’s 3rd (Dog Movie)
    Beethoven’s 4th (Dog Movie)
    Beethoven’s 5th (Dog Movie)
    Beethoven’s Big Break (Dog Movie)
    Benji (Dog Movie)
    Benji Off the Leash (Dog Movie)
    Benji Very Own Christmas Story (Dog Movie)
    Berenstain Bears Fun Family Adventures The
    Berenstain Bears Take a Car Trip The
    Berenstain Bears Team Up The
    Black Beauty (Horse Movie)
    Blind Side The
    Blues Clues Blues Big Band
    Blues Clues Blues Big Musical Movie
    Blues Clues Blues Jobs
    Blues Clues Bluestock
    Blues Clues Classic Clues
    Blues Clues Shapes and Colors
    Boz a wowiebozee Christmas
    Boz Adventures in Imagination
    Boz Bananas Bubbles and Busy Bodies
    Brainy Baby Left Brain
    Brainy Baby Right Brain
    Cats and Dogs Things Are Gonna Get Hairy
    Cats the Movie (NOT to be confused with 1981 “Cats the Musical”)
    Charlottes Web
    Chicken Run
    Chonda Pierce Did I Say That Out Loud? (Christian Comedy)
    Christmas Blessing The
    Christmas Child
    Clancy
    Derby Stallion The (Horse Movie)
    Disney 101 Dalmatians Platinum Edition
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Bach
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Beethoven
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby da vinci
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Galileo
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby MacDonald
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Monet
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Mozart
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Neptune
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Newton
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Noah
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Santa’s Music Box
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Shakespeare
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Van Gogh
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby Wordsworth
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s Favorite Places
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s First Moves
    Disney Baby Einstein Baby’s First Sounds
    Disney Baby Einstein Discovering Shapes
    Disney Baby Einstein Language Nursery
    Disney Baby Einstein Lullaby Time
    Disney Baby Einstein Meet the Orchestra
    Disney Baby Einstein My First Signs
    Disney Baby Einstein Neighborhood Animals
    Disney Baby Einstein Number Nursery
    Disney Baby Einstein On the Go
    Disney Baby Einstein World Animals
    Disney Baby Einstein World Music
    Disney Bambi Platinum Edition
    Disney Beauty and the Beast Diamond Edition
    Disney Beverly Hills Chihuahua
    Disney Cinderella Platinum Edition
    Disney Cinderella Two
    Disney Dinosaur
    Disney JoJo’s Circus Animal a Go-Go
    Disney JoJo’s Circus Take a Bow
    Disney Lady and the Tramp Platinum Edition
    Disney Lion King The Platinum Edition
    Disney Monsters, Inc.
    Disney Nature Earth
    Disney Oliver and Company
    Disney Other Side of Heaven The
    Disney Peter Pan Platinum Edition
    Disney Pinocchio Platinum Edition
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Baby Bot Chase The
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Great Defender of Fun The
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Olie’s Winter Wonderland
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Scavenger Hunt
    Disney Rolie Polie Olie Spring-Time Fun
    Disney Search for Santa Paws The
    Disney Sleeping Beauty Platinum Edition
    Disney Snow White Platinum Edition
    Disney Tinker Bell
    Disney Tinker Bell and the Great Fairy Rescue
    Disney Tinker Bell and the Lost Treasure
    Disney Where’s Spot and Other Stories
    Disney Where’s Spot and Spot Goes to the Farm
    Disney Wild The
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Grand Adventure
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Heffalump Halloween Movie
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Heffalump Movie
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Springtime with Roo
    Disney Winnie the Pooh Tigger Move The
    Dreamer (Horse Movie)
    Evan Almighty
    Everyone’s Hero
    Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed (Ben Stein’s Christian Documentary)
    FernGully The Last Rainforest
    Fire Proof
    Flicka (Horse Movie)
    Flipper (Dolphin Movie)
    Fly Wheel
    Forbidden Territory
    Fox and the Child The (Fox Movie)
    Franklin and the Green Knight
    Franklin in the Dark
    Franklin’s Birthday Party
    Franklin’s Homemade Cookies
    Garfield a Tail of Two Kitties
    Gifted Hands The Ben Carson Story
    Gold Retrievers The (Dog Movie)
    Good Morning Maisy
    Hermie a Common Caterpillar
    Hermie a Fruitcake Christmas
    Hermie and the High Seas
    Hermie Antonio Meets His Match
    Hermie Buzby and the Grumble Bees
    Hermie Flo Show Creates a Buzz The
    Hermie Flo the Lyin Fly
    Hermie Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn’t Pray
    Hermie Skeeter and the Mystery of the Lost Mosquito Treasure
    Hermie Stanley the Stinkbug Goes to Camp
    Hermie To Share or Nut to Share
    Hermie Webster the Scaredy Spider
    Hidden Places
    Hope Floats
    Horse for Danny A (Horse Movie)
    Hotel for Dogs (Dog Movie)
    Ice Age
    Imax Under the Sea
    Kayla (Dog Movie)
    Kit Kittredge An American Girl
    Land Before Time Adventuring in the Mysterious Beyond
    Land Before Time Amazing Adventures
    Land Before Time Big Freeze The
    Land Before Time Good Times and Good Friends
    Land Before Time Great Day of the Flyers The
    Land Before Time Great Longneck Migration The
    Land Before Time Great Valley Adventure The
    Land Before Time Invasion of the Tinysauruses The
    Land Before Time Journey Through the Mist The
    Land Before Time Journey to Big Water The
    Land Before Time Mysterious Island The
    Land Before Time Secret of Saurus Rock The
    Land Before Time Through the Eye of a Spiketail The
    Land Before Time Wisdom of Friends The
    Lassie The Painted Hills (Dog Movie)
    Legend of the Three Trees The (Dog Movie)
    Legend of Tillamooks Gold The (Dog Movie)
    Life on Liberty Street
    Little Bit of Faith A
    Little Heroes (Dog Movie)
    Little Rascals
    Madagacar
    Mandie and the Cherokee Treasure
    Mandie and the Secret Tunnel
    Miracle Dogs (Dog Movie)
    Miracle Dogs Too (Dog Movie)
    Moondance Alexander (Horse Movie)
    Mr Magoriums Wonder Emporium
    MSSP Friends Adventures of the Sunny Patch Friends Volume One
    MSSP Friends Adventures of the Sunny Patch Friends Volume Two
    MSSP Dashing Through the Snow
    MSSP Humbug
    MSSP Kids
    Nims Island
    Once Upon a Forest
    Over the Hedge
    Passion of the Christ The
    Penguins in a Christmas Caper The
    Penguins Whacked Out Holiday The
    Pistol The
    Quigley (Dog Movie)
    Red Fury The (Horse Movie)
    Retrievers The (Dog Movie)
    Robots
    Rubbadubbers Here Come the Rubbadubbers
    Sand Lot The
    Sand Lot Two
    Second Chances (Horse Movie)
    Secret of Nimh The
    Secret of Nimh Two Timmy to the Rescue
    Secrets of Jonathan Sperry The
    Shiloh (Dog Movie)
    Shiloh Season (Dog Movie)
    Sign of the Beaver
    Singing Babies
    Stuart Little 1
    Stuart Little 2
    Stuart Little 3 Call of the Wild
    Summer of the Monkeys (Monkey Movie)
    Through None Go with Me
    Treasure Seekers The
    Try Try Again
    Ultimate Gift The
    Veggie Tales a Snoodles Tale
    Veggie Tales Abe and the Amazing Promise
    Veggie Tales An Easter Carol
    Veggie Tales Are You My neighbor
    Veggie Tales Ballade of Little Jo The
    Veggie Tales Dave and the Giant Pickle
    Veggie Tales Duke and the Giant Pie War
    Veggie Tales Esther the Girl Who Became Queen
    Veggie Tales Gideon Tuba Warrior
    Veggie Tales God Made You Special
    Veggie Tales God Wants Me to Forgive Them
    Veggie Tales Its a Meaningful Life
    Veggie Tales Jonah a Veggie Tales Movie
    Veggie Tales Josh and the Big Wall
    Veggie Tales King George and the Ducky
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and the Bad Apple
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and the Fib From Outer Space
    Veggie Tales Larry Boy and Rumor Weed
    Veggie Tales Lessons From the Sock Drawer
    Veggie Tales Lord of the Beans
    Veggie Tales Lyle the Kindly Viking
    Veggie Tales Madame Blueberry
    Veggie Tales Minnesota Cuke & the Search for Noah’s Umbrella
    Veggie Tales Minnesota Cuke & the Search for Samsons Hairbrush
    Veggie Tales Moe and the Big Exit
    Veggie Tales Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything
    Veggie Tales Pistachio
    Veggie Tales Rack Shack and Benny
    Veggie Tales Saint Nicholas
    Veggie Tales Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs Dance of the Cucumber
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs Do the Moo Shoo
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs I Can Be Your Friend
    Veggie Tales Sign Alongs I Love My Lips
    Veggie Tales Star of Christmas The
    Veggie Tales Sumo of the Opera
    Veggie Tales Sweetpea Beauty
    Veggie Tales Tomato Sawyer & Huckleberry’s Big River Rescue
    Veggie Tales Toy That Saved Christmas The
    Veggie Tales Twas the Night Before Easter
    Veggie Tales Ultimate Silly Song Countdown The
    Veggie Tales Where’s God When I am Scared?
    Veggie Tales Wonder World of Auto-Tainment The
    Veggie Tales Wonderful Wizard of Ha’s
    Wager The
    What Dreams May Come
    When Zachary Beaver Came to Town
    White Fang (TV Series/Episodes)
    Winter Stallion The (Horse Movie)
    Yours Mine and Ours
    Zeus and Roxanne (Dog/Dolphin Movie)

  • laura September 5, 2011 at

    The Count of Monte Cristo – rated PG-13 for violence (prison scenes in dark ages, beatings) good for kids over 13 (as rated); great story line; two scenes with strong sexual innuendos, but no nudity; language can be offensive

    The Conspirator – excellent, based on true story about assassination of Abe Lincoln; violence; no sexual connotations

  • JaneeUtel November 16, 2011 at

    Hello all members, I’m a brand-new member on this bb board so I suspect I would do best to say a few things about myself. Here goes, I am 19 years of age, male, plus I enjoy studying physics in my uni. I really anticipate eagerly talking with you folks… Au revoir!

  • Dave Clements November 17, 2011 at

    This is an excellent idea! I don’t trust the MPAA (or any other ratings agency) to tell me what’s appropriate for children to watch. Even in the last 20 years, the standards have come way down!

    Seems like your list is getting quite long. If it starts getting any bigger, you should consider starting a database of sorts, that’s searchable and editable. I wonder if anyone has already started such an effort?

    • cleancutmedia November 17, 2011 at

      yes the MPAA ratings have changed quite a bit over the years… hard to trust it anymore. thanks for visiting Dave.

  • Rebecca Baron January 20, 2012 at

    We have most of these movies and more on our website. We specialize in good, clean movies and tv shows.

    • cleancutmedia January 20, 2012 at

      that’s great. I’ll be sure to poke around and see what you got there!

      Any good movies you feel like we should add to the list?

  • Ruth March 3, 2012 at

    I’m so glad I found this site! I’ve been so dismayed as of late at the realization that the majority of films being brought to the public nowadays are filled with foul language and sexual content! I can’t watch a good, funny action film without sexual references, sexual displays and the F word every other sentence! It’s horrible.

    Anyway, the past few days I’ve been on the hunt for good family films (and even some fast-paced action movies for my dad- but without the inappropriateness) Here are a few that I didn’t see noted above…

    The Help
    *rated PG-13 for thematic material; no foul language that I can remember; a few scenes and/or material that may be too mature for kids (?) i.e: one character suffers a miscarriage, another woman is a victim of domestic violence (viewer doesn’t see anything), a police officer hitting a black woman, etc. All around safe, clean film though.

    The Big Year
    *rated PG for language and some sensuality. Very few bad words. A sensual kissing scene between a married couple. Clean, family film.

    I rented 30 minutes or less, The Other Guys, and Cop Out for my dad- without checking the rating first. BIG mistake! Horrible language, massively inappropriate, (30 minutes or less was horrifying- I skipped through the whole film then turned it off) The Other Guys was funny, but definitely not for kids. I even fast-forwarded some scenes. Cop Out was F every other word. Just a word of warning! DON”T see these movies!

    Can anybody recommend some action movies that I can feel free to watch with my dad? Minimal foul language, little or no sexuality, NO inappropriate humor?

    • cleancutmedia March 5, 2012 at

      Hey Ruth,

      First of all, thank you for your contributions. I haven’t even heard of “The Help” or “The Big Year”! Also always helps others to name off those movies that may seem clean on the outside but not so much in the inside. I added the good movies and the bad ones to the list!

      It is indeed horrible how every movie just has to squeeze something bad in there. I think why! it was so clean so far!

      Action Films…
      BOURNE – Have you tried to Bourne series? It’s a movie series that every guy I know loved and even some girls liked as well. Lots of action and it is relatively pretty clean. There are some sensual scenes in #1, but nothing obscene. #3 “Bourne Ultimatum” was easily my favorite. You feel tense throughout the whole movie. Director did a great job.

      LOTR – no comment needed here. super clean. lot of good moral stories embedded as well. plus battle, war and manliness! (a good kind)
      Band of Brothers – for guys, this was a pretty enjoyable series. the only one not clean is episode 9. Can just skip that altogether.
      Remember the Titans – a big fan of this football movie. clean.
      Chronicles of Narnia
      Godzilla – haha!
      the Incredibles
      Batman movies (recent & old)
      Indepedence Day – clean
      Con Air – clean
      Terminator Movies
      Die Hard – clean
      Die Hard 4 – action packed. bad language, but nothing beyond that i remember..

      Beyond that, the farther you go back in time, the more likely it will be clean. It’s the sad truth.
      I tried to look up what other people say in other websites, and honestly am horrified at the recommendations.

  • Rebecca Baron March 5, 2012 at

    Ruth, have you tried the Jesse Stone TV miniseries with Tom Selleck? I sell all but Stone Cold on my website. Thanks!

  • Dennis Doyle March 5, 2012 at

    I agree with all the above selections. I would add several that I’ve seen recently: War Horse, Hugo, The Adventures of Tin Tin, Toy Doll, Blind Side, and Thor. I don’t watch R-rated movies.

    • cleancutmedia March 6, 2012 at

      Hey Dennis,

      thanks for those suggestions.
      how would you rate those in terms of whether it is “clean” and whether it is “family -friendly” (meaning you are fine with your 12 yr daughter to watch it).

  • Gary May 21, 2012 at

    Schindler’s List has murder and nudity, NOT suitable for children and not family friendly.

  • Kerry May 31, 2012 at

    I’d just like to post a reminder, because sometimes what we see in the world we see so often that we don’t even see it as wrong anymore. Cleavage — bad. Under-dressed females like the one in the ad at the top right of this webpage at the time I wrote this… this is not something we should teach our daughters, should we ? AND, please, if we would keep this in mind, when people in movies say things like “Oh my G–”, it IS using the Lord’s Name in vain. We can’t serve two masters ! Thank you very much for the hearing.

    • cleancutmedia June 1, 2012 at

      Hey Kerry,

      thanks for your comment! I completely agree with you. My hope both in this post as well as in other review articles is to point out those exact things. There is enough review sites out there that talk about how “good” the story was or the acting was.. I am more interested in what underlying lifestyle is this show teaching? What habits is it promoting? How does this show or song or video change what we consider the “norm”. a PG-13 movie now is a far cry from what PG-13 was in like 1990. Standards are changing and I hope people are able to become better aware of this.

      By all means Kerry and anyone out there, if you see these things or know them in any of the movies listed above, please mention them. I rather we get super conservative (if we can even call that!) because that would make this resource more useful for those seeking truly clean, family-friendly movies.
      cleancutmedia recently posted..The Muppets Movie Review: Good for Children?My Profile

  • Wendy July 10, 2012 at

    I see you have Chronicles of Narnia’s “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe”, but now there’s also “Prince Caspian”, and “Prince Caspian, Voyage of the Dawn Treader”. They are titled as such, and that’s how they’re listed in our library consortium. There is some violence in them, but it’s not graphic and the message is good, especially if you’re Christian and point out the correlation between Aslan and Jesus. My children love them, and like to play that they’re characters out of the books/movies.

    As far as nudity in “Cocoon”, as far as I remember it’s very tame, and I wouldn’t object to my children seeing that movie. I loved it when I was a kid!

  • Chels October 1, 2012 at

    Remember the Titans shows a guy kissing another guy! Very inappropriate!

  • Sumo October 16, 2012 at

    Having adult children now, I don’t scrutinize like I used to, but my video library makes other adults laugh, because it is so tame! My hubby and I switched mostly to the classics years ago, because we were tired of being offended and embarrassed at the theater and then having to walk out of an expensive movie or return a rental without watching it.

    Some favorites, in addition to others that have been listed above: (Just personal conviction: I would watch these sans small kids due to themes and mild language):
    Groundhog Day – Romantic Comedy. Very funny! Mild profanity (2 words maybe?, no nudity or cleavage, but implied sex between two people.
    Waking Ned Devine – Comedy. An old man is nude riding a motorcycle, no private parts shown, and as you can imagine, the scene is NOT sexual at all! :)
    A Christmas Story – Comedy. Small amount of cursing. Might be disturbing to some as children curse. A man gets a “lady leg” lamp, and there seems to be sexual interest in it, but it’s really mild.
    What’s Up Doc? Screwball Comedy. Very funny. Barbra S. is seen in a tub. It is implied that she is not wearing clothes though no nudity is seen, and it’s a bubble bath. Ryan O.’s pants fall off revealing boxer shorts. Barbra S. is seen wrapped only in a towel, but all in comedy routine. Barbra S. seems to be not wearing a bra in one scene, but it’s not “in your face”.
    Nacho Libre – Comedy (Sophomoric, I admit!) Nacho flexes his glutes in tight pants to impress a girl. (This might be OK to you for your kids. Watch it once and then decide.)
    My Big Fat Greek Wedding – Romantic Comedy. I would check out http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0259446/parentalguide for the details on this one. They are all mild, but my hubby said he does look away on this one scene with the lady and her cleavage. It’s a non-sexual scene, but still…
    True Grit – old and new version, but I am talking about the new version here. Western. Good bit of violence, with one really graphic scene. A smattering of curse words, with one F bomb at the end, but it’s muttered under the breath.
    The Princess Bride. Fantasy / Comedy. Nothing bad in this flick at all.
    Inception. Adventure / Sci-Fi. OK. This one is also hard to rate. Check out the IMDB parental guide. A lady does wear cleavage revealing shots, but it is like ball gown, off the shoulder stuff, and more elegant that trashy. I still wish they had less of that. Violence and some language.
    Sleepless in Seattle. Romantic Comedy. This is about the leading man getting back into the dating scene after his wife dies, so there is some sexual innuendo, and his young son asks him if he will have sex on his date. There is one GD. No nudity.
    It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World. Screwball Comedy. There is one scene where a woman dances in a bikini for a good while in the background. My hubby usually refills his soda at that point. :) It’s a 60′s style bikini, so it covers more than it would today, and it’s a comedy scene. Even her dancing is funny.

    B&W or Old Classics we love: (Bear in mind that even the classics have women with low cut or tight garb from time to time, adult themes such as adultery or even voyeurism like in Hitchcock’s Rear Window. Official movie censorship didn’t really start in force till 1934. The mid to late 50′s, restrictions let up as well, so you still have to be careful when you rent that “classic”! I would guess 98% of the movies listed below would be hard pressed to offend anyone!

    The Maltese Falcon
    The Quiet Man
    Harvey
    The Thin Man Series
    Casablanca
    My Favorite Spy
    My Favorite Brunette
    Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (This is one I introduced my son to when he said he was ready for “scary movies”!)
    Abbot and Costello Hold That Ghost
    Abbott and Costello Hit The Ice
    Abbott and Costello Naughty Nineties
    Alfred Hitchcock Spellbound
    Alfred Hitchcock Suspicion
    Alfred Hitchcock Strangers On A Train
    Alfred Hitchcock Shadow Of A Doubt
    Alfred Hitchcock Rear Window
    Alfred Hitchcock Notorious
    Alfred Hitchcock To Catch A Thief
    Alfred Hitchcock Dial M For Murder
    Bob Hope Never Say Die
    Holiday
    Born Yesterday
    Topper
    Laura
    My Man Godfrey
    Palm Beach Story
    The Lady Eve
    To Be Or Not To Be (1942)
    Fort Apache
    Singin’ In The Rain
    Arsenic And Old Lace
    Desk Set
    Pillow Talk
    That Touch of Mink
    His Girl Friday
    The Ghost & Mr. Chicken
    She Wore A Yellow Ribbon
    Roman Holiday
    The Great Escape
    Rio Grande
    My Favorite Wife
    The Awful Truth
    Bringing Up Baby
    Bob Hope and Bing Crosby “Road To” series
    Key Largo

  • koreannicole90 December 2, 2012 at

    The disney characters are not all skinny look at lilo

  • Kevin Ryan January 17, 2013 at

    Great list I must say! I’ll be referring to this for movies to watch with my 7-yr old! As for recommendations, I’d put in a lot of the movies made by the likes of Disney, Pixar and Dreamworks. My favorite movie to watch with kids has to be Home Alone, while my little one just loves Full House (the TV show) and so do I! They really don’t make stuff like that any more do they.
    Kevin Ryan recently posted..A Checklist of Things to Do Before Publishing a PostMy Profile

  • Marleny Rafferty May 4, 2013 at

    1. Sugarland Express with a very young Goldie Hawn. Hysterical though younger kids won’t get a lot of the humor. Great for older kids.
    2. Raising Arizona with Nicholas Cage and Holly Hunter. They portray a couple unable to have a child of their own so they steal one from parents who are blessed with quints (they have so many anyway).
    Each movie is extremely hilarious though probably better for the 8+ age crowd.

  • Jeff October 22, 2013 at

    You may want to rethink the Goonies. I bought the dvd thinking with a pg rating it would be good for my little sister to watch. Had to turn it off. The kids in that movie curse more than a little. It is peppered throughout. Most others in your list look great. Thanks for taking the time to do this btw. May I add a couple of “scary movies”? The messengers is clean language wise, it does have freightening scenes. Also Dead Silence is clean language wise (I think h**l is used a few times) but it does have scary images and could be freightening.

  • Jeff October 22, 2013 at

    Would like to add a couple others:

    The village – no curse words, no sex scenes or immodesty, some freightening scenes.
    Signs – very few curse words, no sex scenes, scary (no gore).

  • Mark October 31, 2013 at

    Super cool website!

    Btw, Star Wars should have a warning on the Return of the Jedi box.
    Princess Leia is scantily clad as a female slave. It’s provacative and not an
    appropriate association of women for anyone, let alone children.

    Again, thanks for this page and your website.

    Mark

  • Katie November 6, 2013 at

    A lot of the “clean” movies listed are not clean at all. The Italian Job shows a girl in her bra, You’ve Got Mail, a whole scene about cyber sex, people live together before marriage. So many on the list are not clean at all. Very disappointing.

    • cleancutmedia November 6, 2013 at

      Hey Katie! thanks for those tips. these are the kind of comments we really value. I am glad your standards are high.. that was purpose of this list – to be a source when people can understand with much more depth whether a movie was clean or not and what they should expect. Going to update the list with some of your notes. please share more that you know of. Downgraded those movies
      cleancutmedia recently posted..Internet Protection & Accountability: Covenant Eyes ReviewMy Profile

  • Katie November 6, 2013 at

    Hitch-shows people in bed together before marriage.

  • Chele November 25, 2013 at

    First and foremost, I wanted to say thank you for your very appreciated effort and hard work. Putting this list together opens you to criticism. I applaud what you’ve done here and how many movies you’ve had to watch to get this list. Can’t please everyone all the time but we really need to bring back some kind of standard.

    I have never been much of a movie watcher and now that I’m older, I don’t even watch regular tv. The commercials are worse than the movies.

    I’m so ridiculously picky about what I watch, I make it where nobody wants to watch movies or tv with me lol. I am just careful about what I let come into my eye and ear gates. That includes music. I don’t listen to mainstream radio, either.

    I have all but given up on being able to watch a movie that doesn’t make me want to plug my ears at least once or get up and walk out of the room. I’m sensitive to profanity, sex, violence, premarital sex, occult themes, drug/alcohol use and blurring the lines of who God is.

    Whatever Dreams May Come is one of my very favorite movies. I did want to mention that the theme of that movie involves death, suicide and hell. He goes to hell to get his wife. There is partial nudity, as well and scary scenes. My biggest problem with that movie is the depiction of a butt-naked Cuba Gooding Jr. as a spirit guide and the fact that God is absent in heaven and that your eternity is entirely what you make of it. Not an accurate depiction of heaven.

    Speaking of God, Bruce Almighty is a good movie, except the sex scene.

    Lady in the Water by M. Night Shamalan. Classic good vs. evil. No nudity, no violence and I believe no profanity. Scary scenes for younger children.

    What about all the superhero movies? Batman, Superman, Transformers, etc.

    Bruce Willis in Unbreakable.

    The Land of Oz. Classic good vs. evil. Didn’t make me flinch once.

    Daddy Day Care. Yay!

    Holes. Yay! However, there is a witchcraft theme (curse),

    Kicking and Screaming. Yay!

    Forest Gump. I believe there is violence but all around a family film.

    The Matrix. No nudity. No profanity. Classic good vs. evil. GREAT action scenes.

    Freedom Writers. Haven’t seen it but the reviews peg it as the classic kids in the ghetto make good stories.

    The Tooth Fairy. Cheesy and dumb but family friendly.

    Kung Fu Hustle. Parody of classic kung fu fighting but way more epic. Mild and cartoon-like violence.

    Now You See Me. Not for young viewers but a good movie.

    You Don’t Mess with the Zohan. I had the misfortune of trusting the PG13 designation. Bad mistake. I was mortified by all the sexual references and innuendo. The movie is packed full of nasty. Horrible movie unless you’re into that kind of thing.

    I avoid just about anything with Jim Carey and Adam Sandler in it and that other guy who does the car commercials now…what’s his name? The anchor guy. Filthy. All of them.

    When I think of more, I’ll post them.

    • cleancutmedia November 25, 2013 at

      Hey Chele,

      first of all, thank you so much for all the contributions. will take me a while to update the list but this list will be very helpful for everyone.

      secondly, i agree with you that standards have been getting lower. What would have been a rated R movie a mere 10 years ago is easily labelled PG-13 these days. I have similar standards as you do actually. All these movies on this list.. i haven’t seen most of them. They are mostly from contributions of commenters such as yourself. of course everyone’ standards are different, so I expect a little push back and forth from everyone, but I am definitely in your camp. In fact.. confession.. i don’t even own a tv. very selective about movies I watch as well.

      thanks again for all the details in the comments!
      cleancutmedia recently posted..Apple iPad Air Pencil TV Ad VideosMy Profile

      • Chele November 25, 2013 at

        I applaud you not even owning a tv. If it weren’t for my being married, I probably wouldn’t either. It bothers me a lot that he loves horror movies. He knows the first time I hear the music change or gurgling sounds, I’m out of my seat and probably the room.

    • Grandma Kitty November 19, 2014 at

      Just wondering – you put The Matrix as an all around good movie – why is it rated “R”?

  • Jenn February 2, 2014 at

    I know this post is from years back but Frozen is a good one =)

  • DarwinsMyth June 25, 2014 at

    I noticed, no reference to Total Recall w/ Arnold. With Arnold and Sharon Stone getting friendly in bed, at the very beginning, and tons of profanity and blasphemy, along with extreme violence, this movie is neither clean or family friendly. Since I like the story and plot of Total Recall, I tried to save it by editing the entire movie, by deleting the profanity and blasphemy out of it, which removed about 8 minutes from the movie. I didn’t touch the violence, since that would require deleting the entire movie. In my opinion, the violence isn’t nearly as harmful to a mature mind, as the profanity and nudity, since the violence is fake… you just can’t fake nudity, profanity, and blasphemy.
    DarwinsMyth recently posted..Do Transitional Fossils Really Exist?My Profile

  • Martin Curn July 23, 2014 at

    I am trying to find a version of Band Of Brothers without the Lord’s name splattered all over it. How you can call it clean is beyond me. I doubt if I would hear Mohammed damn or Jesus mohammed being used. You think it’s clean because there’s no ” F ” word. Give me a break.

  • Grandma Kitty August 3, 2014 at

    There were a couple of things, as I read through that surprised me. First, some of the movies that have been listed as clean are not – would never recommend or view again. Also, have a question – if The Matrix has nothing bad in it, why is it rated “R”? I saw a TV version of it – very clean – however, I have not watched the regular movie because of the “R” – I just don’t watch R movies. Another suggestion to the person who said Adam Sandler is just not clean at all. l felt that way for some time and am not a big fan of his. However, I was talked into watching “Bedtime Stories” and was pleasantly surprised. It was a good movie – his friend leaves a bit to be desired but the movie is good. Also, I watched “100 First Dates” (something like that) with Sandler and found it a delightful movie. Sandler has got at least two good movies. I apologize if there is any bad language in them. I simply do not remember. However, there is not sex, no violence, no nudity, mostly just good clean fun.
    I noticed the Lord of the Rings trilogy is listed – I saw only one and was quite put off by the violence – there was a lot. And – Gandolf (I think that is the name of the little evil guy) – he is really bad news. Some parts of the movie are great but I really didn’t like other parts – too violent. Even if it is fake, it is still etched into our brains as violent actions.
    If the person is still wondering about Captain America – be sure to see it. Even the violence is not bad – lots of things get blown up. The evil guy is scary but one of the other offensive things are part of this movie. They have done a good job keeping our hero clean and upstanding – and – all of the people around him – except the bad guy – he really is bad.
    I really appreciate finding this site. Wish I had gotten into the smart search sooner. Not much of a movie goer but love to relax with a video – just need to know which ones I can trust. Thanks, everyone. I just like clean – in all areas and don’t want to fill my mind with alot of negative scenes.

  • K2 August 13, 2014 at

    Around the World in 80 Days [PG] – Is not clean

  • K2 August 14, 2014 at

    Around the World in 80 days has some nude statues and pictures.

  • Jacqui Paulson October 27, 2014 at

    I recently hired The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty and had to turn it off after a few minutes as it used the Lord’s name in vain. I also didn’t like The Lego Movie, can’t really say why but it felt off, so we turned that off too. However we did watch a great movie called Second Hand Wedding. It was PG. There was no language but the young couple were living together however no nudity or sex scenes. It was a great movie and certainly teenage appropriate.

  • Grandma Kitty November 19, 2014 at

    Just reviewed the list and found Ben Hur with no reference to the violence during the race and a couple of other spots and the discomforting scene after the chariot race. I noticed the Indiana Jones movies are all marked as clean and family friendly – sorry, but I have to strongly disagree. Temple of Doom has some extremely upsetting scenes. I saw it once and will never see it again and would not recommend it to anyone. The scenes are not only upsetting but gross. When a guy is shown trying to pull the heart out of another guy – not good viewing in my estimation. Again, I am very grateful for the time and effort that has gone into putting this list together. It is a valuable tool when trying to find something good to watch and one doesn’t really have a title to go on in order to look it up. Thank you, to everyone for helping put this together and to Paul for making it happen.

    • cleancutmedia November 19, 2014 at

      thanks for the updates! I’ll update those points now.

  • Post a comment

    CommentLuv badge